State Academy Awards

The State Academy for Public Administration (SAPA) has two principal public service award categories 1) Public Service Excellence Awards, and 2) Nelson A. Rockefeller Award.  More information below:

The Public Service Excellence Awards – The 2018 Excellence Award Ceremony will be held on May 21st at Rockefeller College of Public Affairs and Policy in Albany.This year’s Awards will go to 3 individuals and 1 combined team. The Association of Government Accountants (AGA) also will recognize a member of that group with their 2018 Outstanding Achievement in Government Accountability Award.  See SAPA Award Ceremony Event Page for details.

The 2018 SAPA Individual Excellence Awards went to:

 Paul J. Bembia – NYS Energy Research & Development Authority (NYSERDA)

Daniel J. Cunningham – NYS Office of General Services (OGS)

Elsa Magee – NYS Higher Education Services Corporation (HESC)

The 2018 Team Excellence Award Went To:

Tax Reform Team
NYS Division of the Budget
NYS Department of Taxation and Finance
NYS Executive Chamber

The 2017 SAPA Individual Excellence Awards went to:

Anthony Giardina – NY State Dept. of State (Athletic Commission)

Lisa Lee – NYS Division of Criminal Justice Services

Andrew D. Morris – NYS Department of Taxation and Finance

The Team Excellence Award Went To:

Albany County Opioid Task Force

The Capital District Chapter of the Association of Government Accountants Award went to:

Martha Schaefer – NYS Office of Mental Health

  • The Nelson A. Rockefeller Award – Ceremony will be held in September, 2017.

For A Listing of Past Awardees